Top ten best excuses in criminal cases


(the blog doesn’t contain any information learned through attorney client conversations)

1. License case: “It wasn’t me, my brother did it, my brother did it” The defendant doesn’t have a brother.
2. Assault and Battery Case: “The guy walked into my fist. I tried to stop him, but he kept running into my fist!”
3. Shoplifting case: “I was going to return it if it didn’t fit, really I was.”
4. Conspiracy case: “it was entirely my wife’s idea, I will testify that way if I need to.”
5. Assault with Dangerous Weapon: “The cops must have planted my fingerprints on the weapon.”
6. Drug case: “I was only given $5,000 to drive this bag from one location to another, how was I supposed to know there was something illegal in the bag?”
7. Minor in possession of alcohol: “Yeah, we had the alcohol, but I wasn’t given my Miranda rights, so that means a dismissal right?” The police saw the person drinking in the car and there were no statements to be suppressed.
8. OUI case: “I drank a lot, but I wasn’t that drunk because I got to the car and I was driving.”
9. Drug case: An overweight person claimed that she didn’t use crack cocaine. While pointing at herself she stated, “look at me, does it look like I use crack!”
10. My favorite: A doctor gets arrested for trying to elicit sex from a prostitute. “I was doing research on STDs.”

You never know what you are going to encounter. The majority of people that I meet are not like this, but there are a few that keep things interesting. Some people I believe have convinced themselves of this other alternate story to the point that they can’t be considered lying anymore. Finally, I do have to say I enjoy this job. With these experiences, how can I feel any differently?



For more information: visit http://www.attorneychan.com or contact me at 508-808-8902

Like This!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://attorneychan.wordpress.com/2009/09/11/top-ten-best-excuses-in-criminal-cases/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hello there, I found your site via Google
    while searching for a related subject, your site came up, it looks great.
    I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hi there, just was aware of your blog via Google, and found that it is really informative.
    I am gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful in case you continue this in future. A lot of folks will probably be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  2. Unquestionably imagine that that you stated. Your favorite justification seemed to be at the internet the simplest factor to remember of.
    I say to you, I certainly get annoyed whilst people
    think about issues that they just don’t recognize about. You managed to hit the nail upon the highest and also outlined out the entire thing with no need side effect , folks could take a signal. Will probably be again to get more. Thank you


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

